I’m still here.

by wfgodbold

Well, mostly. The election was but a blip in the ever-busier life of a second-year law student,* so I haven’t had much time to wail or gnash my teeth about America’s failure to stave off entitlementageddon for more years rather than fewer.

Today, though, it struck me.

Fewer than 200 years ago, Emerson wrote:**

It is only as a man puts off all foreign support, and stands alone, that I see him to be strong and to prevail. He is weaker by every recruit to his banner. Is not a man better than a town?

I doubt many today would agree.

*The first draft of my law review note is due on the 19th.

**I was going to make it my latest QotITI, but it’s already been one.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 170 other followers

