Two new pocketknives in the mail

by wfgodbold

I dropped my SOG Trident the other day, and a small piece of the blade tip snapped off (I dropped it on a tile floor and it landed tip down).  I should be able to resharpen it again, but this gave me the opportunity to order a couple replacement knives.  The trident has been great, but it’s a bit too long to carry everyday.

One knife in transit is an SOG Flash folder; I chose it primarily because it is a scaled down trident.  The other knife is a Kershaw Ken Onion Leek.  The Onion knives are reviewed generally well.  I liked the look of the leek the best, so I decided to try it out.

In the meantime, I’ve reverted to carrying my Spyderco Tasman Salt; it’s another great knife, especially for opening boxes and cutting through cardboard.  The assisted opening feature of the trident spoiled me, though.  Going back to a knife that you have to open manually is a bigger change than you might think, once you’ve gotten used to the knife opening with a quick flick of the wrist.

Leave a Reply

