Now I just need to learn how to shoot

by wfgodbold

The rifle works just fine; I shot 100 rounds of Wolf steel-cased ammo through it this afternoon, and the only problem I had was one failure to extract.  I shot it at paper targets at both 25 and 50 yards, mainly using a rest.

The lower receiver with the UBR stock shot better at both distances.  I have no idea why that would be the case; I also shot more accurately when using the smaller aperture on the rear sight.

 

Holes made with the most expensive hole-punch I've used.

 

Those are 1″ squares.  I know most people are far better shots than I am, but since I haven’t fired a rifle since Boy Scout camp in the 6th grade, I’ll take it (for now).

If I’m still shooting so poorly after turning hundreds of dollars into noise, I won’t be nearly as laid back about it.

Those fine folks at the Revolutionary War Veterans Association are having an appleseed shoot in August about 45 minutes from me, so I will probably sign up for that.  If nothing else, it will give me a good basis to improve from.

I also see why rimfire caliber rifles are so popular.  Wolf is just about the cheapest ammo you can use, and it still cost me almost $30 at the range.  If I’d been shooting .22 LR, I’d have only used $3 worth of ammo.

I’ll definitely have to pick up a .22 upper receiver for my AR; if I get one of the less expensive conversions, I can get one for the price of a thousand rounds of 5.56mm.  Even the more expensive dedicated upper receivers pay for themselves in 2-3 thousand rounds; I may get one of those just so that I don’t have to worry about low quality parts or materials.

I’ll have to check out the rimfire forums on AR15.com to learn more.

Maybe next time I’ll see how poorly I can shoot off-hand!

Leave a Reply

