I can hear it calling me

by wfgodbold

But I must resist the siren song of the P226 Classic 22!  I’m afraid it will be a losing battle; I don’t have anyone to lash me to the mast or put beeswax in my ears.

I like that it’s a .22 pistol; I’ve been looking for one to practice with for a couple months now, and just haven’t been able to make up my mind.  I like that it’s functionally exactly the same as a regular P226.  And I really like that you can convert it to either 9mm, .40 S&W, or .357 Sig easily.

If I did that, I could buy a new holster and use the same gun to practice and carry; even though it’s larger than my .380 handgun, the right holster should make concealment pretty easy.

Had I done more research, I probably wouldn’t have gotten the .380 in the first place, though.  I didn’t look into ammunition availability or pricing when I was initially shopping around; had I done so, I wouldn’t have bought a gun chambered in such a rare and expensive caliber (I exaggerate, but only slightly; .380 ammo is still ~2x the price of 9mm).

A P226 in 9mm or .40 S&W would also meet the minimum requirements for IDPA competition; my .380 does not, since the cartridges aren’t long enough.  Reading Caleb’s posts has made me curious about the shooting sports; if I were a better shot and and had the proper equipment, I’d give it a shot at the matches my gun club holds regularly.

Leave a Reply

