Week 9 started today

by wfgodbold

Two more runs this week and I’ll be done with Couch-to-5k; I’ve been running for the time listed, not distance, and in the 30 minutes I ran today I made it ~2.8 miles.  That should put me finishing a real 5k run in about 35 minutes or so, I think.  Not bad for someone who couldn’t run for more than a minute or two at a stretch two months ago.

I’d like to get faster, but for the time being I’m going to focus more on endurance than speed.  I figure I can worry about getting faster once I’ve lost more weight, and endurance should carry over better than trying to speed up will.

If you want to start running (then there’s something seriously wrong with you; running sucks (though not as much as it did before, I will admit)!), the Couch-to-5k program is a good way to ease into it.  Before I found out about it, I tried to start running a couple times, but I didn’t have the endurance to go more than about two minutes, and it was really discouraging.  The progression from 60s run/90s walk in week one to 30 minutes of running in week nine is challenging enough to keep you working hard, but gradual enough that you don’t get totally burnt out by a new exercise regimen.

Leave a Reply

