Does this mean blockbuster season is officially here?

by wfgodbold

Zack Snyder’s (300, Watchmen) latest film, Sucker Punch, hits theaters today; it’s 22% at Rotten Tomatoes.

I’ll know for sure whether it’s any good or not once I’ve watched it myself, but I’m inclined to skepticism regarding the negative reviews. Did these reviewers even watch the trailer?

It’s pretty obvious from the trailer that any plot is just going to be window dressing, and the whole gorram point to the movie is the ridiculous/awesome action scenes. It’s got dragons, schoolgirls, giant samurai, miniguns, zeppelins, fighter planes, robots, swordfights, mecha, trench warfare, alien skyscapes, and a quest.

You’d be hard pressed to tie all of that together coherently in a TV show, let alone a movie; if you can’t turn your brain off and enjoy the ride, then you should probably watch something else.

4 Comments to “Does this mean blockbuster season is officially here?”

  1. … And one of the best quotes ever, delivered in possibly the best fashion ever: “If you don’t stand for something, you’ll fall for anything.”

    • The critic rating at RT is down to 20%, but the viewer rating is 76% positive.

      This jives with my theory that movie critics don’t know WTF they’re doing; they’re more concerned with the artistic value of films, or how they address social issues, or whatever.

      If I wanted to watch drama or hear about important social issues, I’d turn on the news. Instead, I’m at the theater, so my primary concern is being entertained. I’ve been perfectly happy spending money to see films that are complete dreck (for example, the many films of Michael Bay), as long as they’re entertaining.

      Zack Snyder might not make the best movies, but he is good at making movies that are fun to watch, and since I don’t have to validate my existence by writing 500 words about every movie that comes out (whether I’m interested in it or not), that’s good enough for me.

      Frank Miller needs to hurry up and finish Xerxes so that Snyder can turn it into an awesome movie, too.

      • Well, now having seen it, I can tell you why the critics hated it – it had definitive right and definitive wrong, it stressed self-reliance and self-sacrifice, and there was one hell of a moral to the story. In short, everything Hollywood seems to hate these days.

        *shrug* I loved the hell out of it.

      • I’ll post a review after watching it tonight.

        I’ve read it’s a bit of a mind screw, so hopefully it’s the good kind and not the M. Night Shyamalan kind.

Leave a Reply

