Only ~6/10! Funny, I don’t feel any different now that I’m a potential domestic terrorist.

by wfgodbold

Bill Quick brings us the following insider’s look at how the DHS operates (H/T Robb) [My responses in italics]:

These federal trainers describe the dangers of “extremists” and “militia groups” roaming the community and hiding in plain sight, ready to attack. Officers are instructed how to recognize these domestic terrorists by their behavior, views and common characteristics. State data bases are kept to track suspected domestic terrorists and officers are instructed on reporting procedures to state and federal agencies. The state I work in, like many others, have what is known as a “fusion center” that compiles a watch list of suspicious people.

So how does a person qualify as a potential domestic terrorist? Based on the training I have attended, here are characteristics that qualify:

* Expressions of libertarian philosophies (statements, bumper stickers)
Statements, yes; bumper stickers, no.

* Second Amendment-oriented views (NRA or gun club membership, holding a CCW permit)

Oh noes! ALL THREE!

* Survivalist literature (fictional books such as “Patriots” and “One Second After” are mentioned by name)

I haven’t read Patriots, but One Second After was a chilling look at the potential aftereffects of an EMP attack on the continental US.

* Self-sufficiency (stockpiling food, ammo, hand tools, medical supplies)

Not really; I keep meaning to put a bug-out-bag together (even FEMA says it’s a good idea!).

* Fear of economic collapse (buying gold and barter items)

I fear the collapse, but I haven’t been buying any gold or anything else.

* Religious views concerning the book of Revelation (apocalypse, anti-Christ)
Not really, no.

* Expressed fears of Big Brother or big government
Anyone who can’t see that we’re on the path to greater government meddling and spying on private citizens is an idiot. I guess that means yes.

* Homeschooling
No kids.

* Declarations of Constitutional rights and civil liberties
Wait, seriously? The fear of Big Brother isn’t enough; even thinking that we have rights and liberties guaranteed by the Constitution and Bill of Rights is an indicator of tendencies towards domestic terrorism? An emphatic yes.

* Belief in a New World Order conspiracy
Not particularly. Nothing I’ve seen regarding the elites in government lends any credence to the idea that they would be able to competently carry out any kind of conspiracy, let alone keep it secret.

Well, if I wasn’t already on a list of some kind, I’m sure to be on one now.

Fortunately, I can fall back on my civil liberties to find out if I’m on any kind of list and get myself taken off…

Oh.

Wait.

2 Trackbacks to “Only ~6/10! Funny, I don’t feel any different now that I’m a potential domestic terrorist.”

Leave a Reply

