Vampire Killer

by wfgodbold

Castlevania: Harmony of Despair is an Xbox Live Arcade game created to cash in on the franchise give players the opportunity to play cooperatively or go head to head.

What I played of the demo was pretty straightforward, but while it might be 2D (like the always classic SotN, and unlike the latest installment in the series), I was unimpressed.

You can see the entire map all at once; since the game is in HD, that means that on my 32″ TV, Alucard was about half an inch tall. Clicking the right stick changed the zoom level, and then I was actually able to see what was going on.

Alucard was the demo’s only playable character; the full version boasts a much larger cast. Not only is the cast drawn from classic 2D Castlevania games, but the music is, as well (My youtube-fu leads me to believe that the following track first appeared in Circle of the Moon (which, IIRC, was the first game in the series I beat. I think.))!

Leave a Reply

