No-knock warrants ought to be abolished

by wfgodbold

Especially when they result in tragedies like the Pima County SWAT team’s killing of Jose Guerena.

I’ve mentioned the incident in passing a time or two before, and the more information that comes to light, the worse the SWAT team looks.

I’d like to blame this on the war on drugs, but when every federal department has its own SWAT unit and is itching to use them, the problem is deeper.

I don’t know that I’m as ready to stick a fork in the republic as Linoge is (Update: Linoge clarified in the comments that he doesn’t think the republic isn’t dead yet, just that the decline is inevitable at this point), but unless there’s a major turnaround in the next several years, I’m afraid the US’s transition to police state will be unavoidable.

It used to be that you could assume that as long as you were law-abiding, the police would leave you alone. That’s no longer the case; when non-violent crimes draw down the wrath of the mall ninjas, no one is safe.

8 Responses to “No-knock warrants ought to be abolished”

  1. One thing I do want to make clear is that I am not calling our republic “over” right here and right now.

    I am saying that while inertia will continue to carry us for the forseeable future, that which made America great is dead, and most of us do not even know it yet.

    So, yeah, we are riding the bomb down, but no one seems to have taken notice…

    • Ah, I misunderstood.

      I’ll edit my post and point that out.

      • Entirely my fault, and I need to write up another post clarifying that.

        Inertia is a bitch, on all counts, but this time around, she may be a saving grace for our generation… but this situation alone, and the complete lack of of average citizen response, has indicated to me that the idea of America is gone.

  2. Gotta agree with Linoge, unless ‘somebody’ or ‘somebodies’ get their acts together, we will leave our kids a pile of crap for a country. SWAT is not the be all to end all, and really isn’t needed in probably 95% of the cases. But, the cops have the use it or lose it mentality with SWAT… they DO cost a bunch of $$ to stand up/maintain.

  3. Instead of typing out my 500 word response here, I made a new post for it.

Trackbacks

Leave a Reply

