Google+ and insatiable corporate curiousity

by wfgodbold

I’ve been fiddling with Google plus off and on since getting an invite a week or so ago (if you want an invite, let me know), and the iPhone app went live in the App store yesterday.

I downloaded it, but I haven’t actually tried it out yet; when I loaded it up, one of the first terms I had to agree to before logging in was to agree to share my location information.

Now, when I post on twitter, facebook, google+, wordpress, or on anything else, I don’t check the box that says “use my location” because I don’t want to broadcast my location any more than I already do; I’m sure resourceful miscreants could find me if they put their minds to it, but I don’t see why I should make it easy on them.

I use google for email, and now with google plus, social networking. I don’t think it’s any of their business where I am, and I won’t be using the mobile app until they include some kind of opt out feature.

Google doesn’t need to know everything about me.

Update: The word on the street is that while you have to agree to share your location data, you can still deny its API requests in the app itself. Kind of a workaround, but you go with what works, I suppose.

2 Comments to “Google+ and insatiable corporate curiousity”

  1. Google already knows everything about you.

Leave a Reply

