Yakitori (ヤキトリ)

by wfgodbold

Ghost in the Shell: Stand Alone Complex is the first TV adaptation of Shirow Masamune’s cyberpunk SF manga (a second season and a few movies were made; none of them are exact adaptations of his work, and the movies are in a different continuity from the TV series), and looks at the really big questions.

What makes you “you?”

Can machines become individuals?

How does Maj. Motoko Kusanagi kick so much ass without wearing any pants (Is she related to Robb?)?

Where can I buy my own Tachikoma tank?

And how does Yoko Kanno keep churning out good music?

4 Comments to “Yakitori (ヤキトリ)”

  1. I Loved The first season of SAC, all the other GITS media (excluding the Manga of course) not-so-much.

    Best animated adaptation of a Shirow work. I did very much like the Appleseed CG movie, and I personally think Appleseed is is his best work, still when it comes to adaptations SAC wins!

    • Yeah, I liked the first season. The second season is supposed to get good, but I havn’et bothered watching past the first few.

      SAC is far better than the movie (or its sequel, GitS: Innocence); the sequel to the 2nd Gig (Solid State Society) is supposed to be pretty good, but I haven’t watched it, either.

      Stand Alone Complex is an excellent adaptation. The CG Appleseed movie was pretty good, but I’m not familiar with the source material, so I can’t say whether it’s a good adaptation or not. I defer to your experience. 😉

  2. Appleseed CG (Ex Mechena is like GitS Innocence, and is sucky and boring) is a pretty solid Appleseed story. Granted like the various GitS it takes some liberties with timelines and events, and like GitS the Movies are NOT events that happen in the Manga.

    I’m with you on 2nd Gig. I own the box set, but frankly I watched the first disk and didn’t feel a need to pop in the 2nd.

Leave a Reply

