Rebuild of Evangelion #3: Q dated!

by wfgodbold

And the word is: Fall 2012. (Incidentally, the Q is for Quickening. No idea why.)

Misato narrates (in the style of the next episode previews from the TV series):

Shinji Ikari awakens! A mysterious boy stands nearby! And a new world awaits him! Next time, Evangenion Rebuild Q! I’ll be there for fan service this time, too!

Now I’m intrigued; Asuka never lost an eye in the original, and she looks pretty cool with an eyepatch. I don’t think Unit 02 went to space, either.

Gainax needs to get moving on this and on the fourth (and supposedly final) film, so I can sit down and mainline them. This periodic doling out of content is just cruel.

Update: I realized why it’s subtitled “Q”; it’s a play on the Japanese artistic concept of jo-ha-kyu; 1.11 was jo, and 2.22 was ha. It’s been a few years since I last read any Noh plays, and so I’d forgotten about the concept until I saw the subtitles for the first two.

4 Comments to “Rebuild of Evangelion #3: Q dated!”

  1. Was there a #2?

    • Yeah; the first rebuild film was released on DVD/Blu-ray here as Evangelion 1.11: You Are (Not) Alone, and the second was Evangelion 2.22: You Can (Not) Advance.

      I think I’ve even seen them in the DVD section at Walmart.

      • I suppose we’re heading for an inevitable 9.99?=10?

      • Nah, I think they’re stopping at 4.44.

        At least their original plan was for four movies; maybe the director will have another nervous breakdown and go crazy again.

Leave a Reply

