I’m of mixed feelings about the 7th Cir.’s holding in Moore v. Madigan

by wfgodbold

One the one hand, anti-gun wailing and gnashing of teeth is like music to my ears (the decision is here). Though gun control’s not quite dead, it’s definitely on life support.

On the other hand, this has thrown a wrench into a certain project I’ve left undescribed (see fn 1). Between this case, the 2d Cir.’s holding in Kachalsky, and whatever the 9th Cir. holds in Richards v. Prieto (assuming it’s decided next semester-ish), I’m going to have to rework substantial sections.

On the gripping hand, my project not only turned out to be timely, but by the time it’s done, it may even be on a circuit split!

And with that said, those astute readers of mine will likely have deduced the general subject of my law review article.

Now, back to studying. One more exam to go, and then this semester will be officially over.

2 Comments to “I’m of mixed feelings about the 7th Cir.’s holding in Moore v. Madigan”

  1. Oh, I will undoubtedly agree that I engaged in more than a little creative hyperbole there, but I dare say the last state’s prohibition against concealed/open carry falling counts as one hell of a death knell for “gun control” as a whole.

    • Still D.C. left, though. And then there’s the shall/may-issue question, which I think Alan Gura (that magnificent bastard!) is trying to get SCOTUS to address directly by engineering a circuit split on the issue.

Leave a Reply

