We’ve come a long way from Voltaire*

by wfgodbold

The anti-civil rights organization known as the Coalition to Stop Gun Violence believes that the right to bear arms is contingent upon your speech being acceptable (H/T Sebastian).

I might think Terry Jones is an idiot, but even idiots (especially idiots?) have constitutional rights.

What next? If you can have your rights abrogated because you expressed yourself in a manner that other found odious, it’s not out of the realm of possibility that your rights might be infringed because of the contents of your speech.

If the CSGV doesn’t like your opinion on global warming, will they advocate for your rights to be stripped away? What if they don’t like your opinion on Catholicism? If someone burns the Bible, do their rights also go up in smoke?

Or is it just radical Islamists that are treated with kiddie gloves?

*Yes, I know it was Evelyn Beatrice Hall, not Voltaire that said, “I disapprove of what you say, but I will defend to the death your right to say it.” But if I’d said “We’ve come a long way from Evelyn Beatrice Hall,” no one would know what I was talking about.

4 Responses to “We’ve come a long way from Voltaire*”

  1. You’ve already quoted my view on this subject, for which I am grateful. I see no reason to modify my comment WRT this idiocy.

    • The way things are going, you might have to cut it short.

      “I may not agree with what you say, so just shut up.”

      Or how about, “‘Tis better to be silent, than to open your mouth and lose all your civil rights”?

Trackbacks

Leave a comment