Atlantean Sword

by wfgodbold

Tomorrow, the newly remade sword and sorcery epic adventure, Conan the Barbarian, hits theaters (starring Drogo of Game of Thrones as the eponymous barbarian); today’s track is from the 1982 film starring the erstwhile governor of California (and James Earl Jones!).

The reboot (thankfully they did not try to get the Governator to reprise his role) is getting mixed reviews; apparently it hews closer to the dark, pulpy nature of Robert E. Howard’s original tales than to the campy Arnold version.

A welcome change, if you ask me (though I’m still waiting for Solomon Kane to come out in the US (futilely, I fear)).

What is best in life?

4 Responses to “Atlantean Sword”

  1. I think going darker will improve the storyline as a whole, but hearing that the would-be King of the Barbarians literally called his wife and, in his own words, “had a good cry” when his horse had the nerve to buck him, I got a little soured on the actor and movie as a whole.

    Might go see it this weekend, but I doubt anything would actually warrant big-screen dimensions.

    • Everything I’ve heard about the Game of Thrones series has been good, and he was supposed to be pretty good as a barbarian king in that, so I figured I’d give it a chance.

      Besides, it was a cheap ticket ($2!) thanks to a groupon deal from a month or so ago. I’ll post a review of the movie tomorrow, but the quick and dirty was that I thought it was pretty good. The actor might be a pansy off the screen, but you wouldn’t be able to tell by watching the movie.

      • ‘e’s an actor. And he worked with Poehler at UCB, so he can’t be that much of a pansy. Amy’s insane.

Trackbacks

Leave a comment