Archive for May 8th, 2011

05/08/2011

For my next riff on Detroit

by wfgodbold

I would like to submit the Insane Clown Posse.

I had no idea they were from Detroit.

If half of Detroiters can’t even read, it’s no surprise at all that science would be beyond their ken.

Finally, the Fuckin’ Magnets meme is explained!

05/08/2011

Vampire Killer

by wfgodbold

Castlevania: Harmony of Despair is an Xbox Live Arcade game created to cash in on the franchise give players the opportunity to play cooperatively or go head to head.

What I played of the demo was pretty straightforward, but while it might be 2D (like the always classic SotN, and unlike the latest installment in the series), I was unimpressed.

You can see the entire map all at once; since the game is in HD, that means that on my 32″ TV, Alucard was about half an inch tall. Clicking the right stick changed the zoom level, and then I was actually able to see what was going on.

Alucard was the demo’s only playable character; the full version boasts a much larger cast. Not only is the cast drawn from classic 2D Castlevania games, but the music is, as well (My youtube-fu leads me to believe that the following track first appeared in Circle of the Moon (which, IIRC, was the first game in the series I beat. I think.))!

05/08/2011

Cheney is fine with not releasing the photos?

by wfgodbold

He sounds pretty ambivalent, but points out that the Bush administration released photos of Saddam’s sons.

If I were inclined to snark (who, me?), I would point out that DEVGRU learned their face-shooting skills at the knee of their dark lord and master, Dick Cheney.

If you click through to the third image, you can see the guy Cheney shot.

That photo was released; why not OBL’s?

Sure, it’s going to be more gruesome; he took one just above the eye, and it was a lot larger in caliber than bird shot.

Sure, the Islamists will riot; but like I said before, that’s nothing new, and certainly nothing they weren’t going to do anyway.

As an aside, I feel I should point out that if you ever needed proof that bird shot would be insufficient for defense, the Cheney hunting incident ought to suffice. Sure, he’s had health problems since then (including heart problems), but that’s nowhere near timely enough for self-defense.