Archive for June 16th, 2011

06/16/2011

I wonder if this is what Alice felt like…

by wfgodbold

Apparently, “anarchists” are protesting against government spending cuts in Greece (again).

If you’re in favor of government, then you’re not an anarchist. 

Either these “anarchists” are playing the part of Humpty Dumpty, or the media is on their behalf:

“When I use a word,” Humpty Dumpty said, in a rather a scornful tone, “it means just what I choose it to mean—neither more nor less.”

Or, in the immortal words of Inigo Montoya, “You keep using that word. I do not think it means what you think it means.”

This isn’t the first time I’ve complained about people making up their own definitions for words, and I doubt it will be the last.

06/16/2011

Condemnation Wings (Tsubaki’s Theme)

by wfgodbold

Blaz Blue: Continuum Shift, the second game in the Blaz Blue series, brings back the characters from Calamity Trigger and adds seven more, for a grand total of twenty-one fighters.

And just for people like me (who are terrible at fighters), Continuum Shift added a beginner mode!

No longer must I try and fail to memorize move lists, or pray that my random button-mashing will result in a lucky combo; now, combos are guaranteed!

Of course, if you’re any good at fighting games at all, you’ll be able to jump right in without bothering with beginner mode or tutorial mode.

Now that Arc System Works has recovered the rights to their other fighter, I’m looking forward to the next Guilty Gear game.

06/16/2011

Damn it, Apple

by wfgodbold

If I choose to use my phone to break the law (whether it’s by recording copyrighted material or recording the police), that’s my choice; you have no right to disable something I’ve already paid for.

Now, I realize the patent only refers to disabling the phone’s camera when it detects some infrared signal, and they’re touting this as a solution to surreptitious concert and movie recording.

But it wouldn’t be a stretch for the police to decide that no, you really don’t have a right to record them, and then outfit every patrol car with one of these disabling devices.

Given that Apple has already caved in to law enforcement demands with respect to DUI checkpoint avoidance apps, I don’t think it would be out of character for them to happily provide the police with the ability to circumvent citizen oversight.

Quis custodiet ipsos custodes?

Only people with Android phones and Flip cameras, I guess.

Update: ESR savages Apple even further.